top of page

Speaking Part One - Jobs

In this Youtube Short video, I looked at answers a speaking part 1 question about jobs.



Tell me about your job.


I’m a hugely passionate teacher. I love the fact that I can make a comfortable salary while helping people. I consider myself to be quite organised, but I love the challenge of having to come up with off-the-cuff explanations. It’s an amazingly varied and fulfilling career.


I used the word hugely instead of 'very' as it's a more interesting and powerful adverb. If used correctly, it is always better to use a more specific term than a general one.


Secondly, I used the adjective comfortable instead of good. This means having enough money so you are not worried about it, but not rich.


I used the phrase I consider myself to be, as this is a nice way to be a little softer when talking about yourself. It makes you seem more considered and less like your are trying to show off.


A challenge is a great way to positively talk about something that is difficult but gives your life meaning. The word focuses on overcoming the problem, so is a more positive way to talk about something that is difficult.


In our speaking part one, we need to come up with ideas as we are talking. Another way to say this is with the idiom off-the-cuff.

2 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page